The natural Christmas tree

 
Because the natural tree filters the air and reduces pollution.
Because the natural Christmas tree cleans the water.
Because the natural Christmas tree reduces the risk of erosion and floods.
Because the natural Christmas tree has an effect on the microclimates.
Because the plantations protect the fauna.
Because the natural Christmas tree plantations render land use and the embellishment of farm land.
Because natural trees offer many agricultural and ecological benefits.

 
 

The Canadian tree tradition is one more than a thousand years old. If at the very beginning, between 2000 and 1200 before Christ, the epicea or the tree of birth, a pagan feast of the winter solstice that Christianity replaced by the feast of Nativity on the 25th of December the Christmas tree has the place of honour in the hearts of our festivities since thousands of years.

 

One can read in a German legend that a monk around the end of the 7th century, Saint-Boniface (b in 680) wishing to convince the German Druids that the oak tree was not a sacred tree, had some cut down, which while falling, crushed everything in their way with the exception of a young evergreen. It appears that Saint-Boniface recognized in this pure hazard a miracle and declared that: “Henceforth, we will call this tree the tree of the Infant Jesus”.

 

Ever since, we plant young evergreen trees to celebrate Christmas.

 

Beyond the legend, the production and he use of a natural trees offer many benefits that one must consider when comes time to choose the kind of tree that will ornate his home. If these majestic coniferous trees are cultivated and set in the ground with the goal of brightening the festivities of the end of the year pretty near everywhere on this planet, their cultivation presents interesting benefits on the economic plan as well as thanks to the ecological and environmental characteristics that it promotes.

 

Thus, it is of prime importance to bear in mind that natural trees purify the air that we breathe, and filters the water that we drink. They have the property to stabilize our climate and most of all they improve our sceneries by favouring a harmony of the flora and the fauna.

 

In our modern environment, looking hard for a panacea, the real natural Christmas trees, biodegradable as well as non pollutant, they play an important role in many ways to re-establishing the desired balance.

 
 

Characteristic # 1 Attitude – The Christmas tree filters the air and reduces pollution

 

Did you know that a plantation of grown Christmas trees of a hectare (100m x100m) produces daily enough oxygen to meet the needs of 45 persons? The Christmas tree plantations in fact paly a heavy role in the fight against the greenhouse effect and the global warming of our planet. The trees absorb the carbon gases by photosynthesis. Photosynthesis is the process by which the plans exposed to light; produce their nutrients and their reserve of energy. This phenomenon happens inside the cells containing chlorophyll, a pigment that gives the green color to plants. The leaves and the needles are the organs of the plant that contain the most chlorophyll. Chlorophyll absorbs the light energy and uses it to form glucoses from carbon gas (co2) and water. This reaction also produces oxygen that is rejected into the atmosphere.

 

Did you know that trees filter the air that we breathe? One hectare of cultivated Christmas trees clean by removing up to 32 tons of pollutants.

 

Did you know that trees are dust collectors? During summer, trees collect from ambient air dusts, namely pollen that cause allergies. The Christmas tree plantations therefore have a beneficial incidence on our health.

 
Top
 

Characteristic # 2 – The Christmas trees clean the water.

 

Did you know that the trees produce clean water? The water that the trees take from the ground by their roots goes back in the atmosphere by evaporation through the leaves or the needles. While travelling from the roots to the extremities, the tree purifies the water by withholding the elements that it needs. The cultivated fields consequently filter the surface water. By extension Christmas tree plantations that were established on soil prepared for this effect tale all advantages of an irrigation favouring the water retention for the benefit of the growth of trees.

 
Top
 

Characteristic # 3 – The Christmas tree reduces the risks of erosion and floods.

 

Experts insist on the fact that the main element to start erosion, and floods obviously, is water. Once soils are deprived of their natural protective coat that vegetation provides, they become very vulnerable. Water, which cannot be absorbed any more. Runs on the surface and carries soil particles. The great principle of the prevention of the soil erosion consists in preventing water from becoming erosive. The cultivation of Christmas trees is no exception to this rule. It has a great effect on the stabilization of the soils:

 

Stabilization of the soils: the cultivated Christmas trees stabilize the soil on which they grow, thus diminishing erosion caused by winds and ground surface water.

 

Summer floods: the increased permeability of the grounds in the Christmas tree plantations reduces run off the during torrential rains. The plantation becomes immense sponges.

 

Spring floods: the snow accumulated under the cultivated Christmas trees will melt slower than in the rest of the fields, reducing floods.

 

Wind breaker principle: Even in the case of a young Christmas plantation, it will reduce the destructible effect on the grounds and the neighbouring vegetation.

 
Top
 

Characteristic 4 – the Christmas tree has some effect on the micro-climate

 

A microclimate is a small zone within a climatic zone where the climate is slightly different. The Christmas tree plantations play a role of a moderator on neighbouring microclimates by acting on:

 

The solar rays: the dense ground cover of a plantation protects the ground from harsh sun rays by spreading this sun heat and reducing the surface evaporation.

 

The night heat retention: this same ground cover prevents the accumulated heat during daytime from escaping in the atmosphere all night.

 

The rate of humidity: the relative humidity of the ambient air is often more elevated near a plantation.

 
Top
 

Characteristic # 5 – Christmas tree plantations protect the fauna

 

Sapinière du Québec

 

Coniferous plantations attract a wide variety of animals. The winged feathered friends namely, the grosbeaks, the blue jays, the blackbirds, the robins and the chickadees, find there a home along with the rodents and the small bird games like the partridge and the rabbits. The groundhogs are also very present. A plantation consequently constitutes a transition between the forest and the fields, thus increasing the wildlife habitat diversity.

 

Also, Christmas tree plantations have a very beneficial effect on the advantages of the diversity of the wildlife habitat consists in limiting proliferation of insects by allowing birds and small games to feed on them.

 
Top
 

Characteristic # 6 – Christmas tree plantations find a use and the improvement of farms.

 

Growing Christmas trees is a long lasting cultivation method. Its permanent environment gives stability to the scenery. Thus, by dispersing sound waves, the trees choke out noises further more permitting a year round greenery. Christmas tree plantations offer green areas that blend in with the neighbouring environment, as a result in beautifying the various locations. So, while walking in a Christmas tree planation our senses are filled with satisfaction, our sight by the greenery, our hearing by the songs of the birds, our smell by the typical scent of the balsam fir.

 
Top
 

Characteristic # 7 – The Christmas trees offer many agricultural and ecological benefits.

 

Spread the word around, Christmas trees grown in plantations with an economic aim do not jeopardize the natural forest resources. Since the final goal of these cultivated trees is to decorate our homes, the pillage of fir trees in our natural forest is avoided. For each Christmas tree grown and harvested, the growers will replant another one for future harvests. They guarantee this way the permanency, the ecological benefits along with the environmental and economical ones of the Christmas tree plantations.

 

Furthermore, the domain is continuously perfecting its resources and its technics, therefore it has a direct incidence on the quality of the products that it offers to the consumers. The balsam fir, the traditional Christmas tree of the Quebecois is a type that adopts well to the genetic improvement and the cultural research in the cultural management. The nurserymen growing young plants selecting the characteristics of the balsam in order to improve its resistance to the insects and improve its aesthetic appearance. The cultivation of Christmas trees follows all the methods used in horticulture, arboriculture, including the collection of seeds and the raising of transplants.

 
Top
 

Conclusion

 
Sapinière du Québec
 

In facts, the cultivation of Christmas trees obtained its letters of nobility since it went from artisan to the statute of science. From hence on, Christmas tree producers must hold expertise such as the soil composition and their drainage, entomology, and as well handle the pure and simple basic knowledge of forestry. Fewer and fewer aspects are left to mere hazard.
 

To buy a Christmas tree grown in Quebec is to show respect to the natural cycle of the agriculture environment that surrounds us. Not only our purchase will have had a favourable impact on the environment and fauna, the planning of the territory and the collective well-being, but a lot better yet, will it contribute to help you live good happy celebrations shared with your loved ones. Everyone wins when one buys a cultivated tree for Christmas.

Arbre naturel

 
Parce que l’arbre de Noël purifie l’air et réduit la pollution
Parce que l’arbre de Noël assainit l’eau
Parce que l’arbre de Noël réduit les risques d’érosion et d’inondations
Parce que l’arbre de Noël a un effet sur les microclimats
Parce que les plantations d’arbres de Noël protègent la faune
Parce que les plantations d’arbres de Noël permettent l’utilisation et l’embellissement des terres
Parce que les arbres de Noël offrent de nombreux avantages agricoles et écologiques

 
 

La tradition de l’arbre de Noël est plus que millénaire. S’il s’agissait au départ, entre 2000 et 1200 ans avant JC de l’épicéa ou de l’arbre de l’enfantement, fête païenne du solstice de l’hiver que le christianisme remplacera par la fête de la Nativité le 25, l’arbre de Noël trône au cœur de nos fêtes depuis des millénaires.

 

On raconte même dans une légende allemande qu’un moine de la fin du VIIe siècle, Saint Boniface (né en 680), voulant convaincre les druides germains que le chêne n’était pas un arbre sacré, en fit abattre qui, en tomba, écrasa tout ce qui se trouvait sur son passage à l’exception d’un jeune sapin. Il semble que Saint Boniface qualifia ce pur hasard de miracle et qu’il déclara que: « Désormais, nous appellerons cet arbre, l’arbre de l’Enfant Jésus. »

 

Depuis, on plante de jeunes sapins pour célébrer la Noël.

 

Au-delà de la légende, la production et la consommation d’arbres de Noël naturels offrent de nombreux avantages dont il faut tenir compte lorsque vient le temps de choisir le type d’arbre qui ornera son domicile. Si ces conifères majestueux sont cultivés et mis en terre dans le but d’égayer les fêtes de fin d’année un peu partout sur la planète, leur culture présente des bénéfices intéressants tant sur le plan économique que grâce aux caractéristiques écologiques et environnementales qu’elle met de l’avant.

 

Ainsi, il est primordial de garder en mémoire que les arbres de Noël naturels purifient l’air que nous respirons et assainissent l’eau que nous consommons. Ils ont la propriété de stabiliser notre climat, en plus de rehausser nos paysages en favorisant l’harmonie de la faune et de la flore.

 

Dans notre environnement moderne en quête de panacées, les arbres de Noël naturels, biodégradables et non polluants, participent donc de multiples façons à rétablir l’équilibre souhaité.

 
 

Propriété 1 – L’arbre de Noël purifie l’air et réduit la pollution

 

Saviez-vous qu’une plantation d’arbres de Noël cultivés, d’une superficie d’un hectare (100 mètres par 100 mètres), produit, en une journée seulement, suffisamment d’oxygène pour répondre aux besoins de 45 personnes? Les plantations d’arbres de Noël jouent donc un rôle prépondérant dans la lutte contre l’effet de serre et le réchauffement de la planète. Les arbres absorbent les gaz carboniques par photosynthèse. La photosynthèse est le processus par lequel les végétaux, en présence de lumière, fabriquent leur nourriture et produisent leurs réserves d’énergie. Ce phénomène survient à l’intérieur des cellules contenant de la chlorophylle, un pigment qui donne la couleur verte aux plantes. Les feuilles ou les aiguilles sont les organes de la plante qui contiennent le plus de chlorophylle. La chlorophylle capte l’énergie lumineuse et l’utilise pour former des glucides (sucres) à partir de gaz carbonique (CO2) et d’eau. Cette réaction produit aussi de l’oxygène qui est rejeté dans l’atmosphère.

 

Saviez-vous que les arbres filtrent l’air que nous respirons? Un hectare d’arbres de Noël cultivés purifie l’air en enlevant jusqu’à 32 tonnes de polluants.

 

Saviez-vous que les arbres sont des collecteurs de poussières? Durant l’été, les arbres soustraient de l’air ambiant les poussières, dont le pollen causant des allergies. Les plantations d’arbres de Noël ont donc une incidence bénéfique sur la santé.

 
Haut de page
 

Propriété 2 – L’arbre de Noël assainit l’eau

 

Saviez-vous que les arbres produisent de l’eau pure? L’eau que l’arbre tire du sol par ses racines retourne dans l’atmosphère par évaporation au niveau de la feuille ou des aiguilles. Au cours du trajet de la racine jusqu’à ses extrémités, l’arbre purifie l’eau en retenant les éléments dont il a besoin. Les champs cultivés filtrent par conséquent l’eau de surface. Par extension, les plantations d’arbres de Noël ayant été établies sur des terrains préparées à cet effet jouissent d’une irrigation favorisant la rétention de l’eau pour la croissance des arbres.

 
Haut de page
 

Propriété 3 – L’arbre de Noël réduit les risques d’érosion et d’inondations

 

Les experts insistent sur le fait que le principal élément déclencheur de l’érosion – et d’inondations évidemment – est l’eau. Privés de leur couche protectrice naturelle qu’est la végétation, les sols deviennent vulnérables. L’eau, qui ne peut plus être absorbée, ruisselle à la surface et entraîne avec elle des particules de sol. Le grand principe de la lutte à l’érosion des sols consiste donc à empêcher l’eau de devenir érosive. Il va sans dire que la végétation demeure le meilleur moyen d’empêcher l’érosion. La culture des arbres de Noël ne fait pas exception à la règle. Elle a un effet sur :

 

La stabilisation des sols: les arbres de Noël cultivés fixent le sol sur lequel ils croissent, diminuant l’érosion par les vents et les eaux de surface.

 

Les inondations estivales: la perméabilité accrue des sols des plantations d’arbres de Noël réduit le ruissellement lors de pluies torrentielles. Les plantations deviennent alors d’immenses éponges.

 

Les inondations printanières: la neige accumulée sous les arbres cultivés fond plus lentement que dans les champs, minimisant les inondations

 

Le principe de brise-vent: même une jeune plantation d’arbres de Noël diminue l’action néfaste des vents sur les sols et la végétation avoisinante.

 
Haut de page
 

Propriété 4 – L’arbre de Noël a un effet sur les microclimats

 

Un microclimat est une petite zone au sein d’une zone climatique où le climat est légèrement différent. Les plantations d’arbres de Noël jouent ainsi un rôle de modérateur sur les microclimats avoisinant en agissant sur :

 

Le rayonnement solaire: le couvert fourni d’une plantation protège le sol des rayons ardus du soleil en dispersant la chaleur solaire et atténue l’évaporation des eaux de surface.

 

La rétention de la chaleur la nuit: ce même couvert empêche la chaleur accumulée durant le jour de s’échapper dans l’atmosphère durant la nuit.

 

Le taux d’humidité: l’humidité relative de l’air ambiant est souvent plus élevée près d’une plantation.

 
Haut de page
 

Propriété 5 – Les plantations d’arbres de Noël protègent la faune

 

Sapinière du Québec

 

Les plantations de résineux attirent une grande variété d’animaux. La gent ailée, dont les gros becs, les passereaux, les carouges, les merles et les mésanges, y trouvent gîte en compagnie de rongeurs et de petits gibiers comme la perdrix et le libère. Les marmottes y sont également très présentes. Une plantation constitue par conséquent une transition entre la forêt et les champs, ce qui augmente la diversité de l’habitat faunique.

 

De même, les plantations d’arbres de Noël ont un effet bénéfique sur le contrôle des insectes. Ainsi, un des avantages de la diversité de l’habitat faunique consiste à limiter la prolifération d’insectes en permettant aux oiseaux et aux petits mammifères de s’en nourrir.

 
Haut de page
 

Propriété 6 – Les plantations d’arbres de Noël permettent l’utilisation et l’embellissement des terres

 

La culture des arbres de Noël est une culture pérenne. Son environnement permanent donne une stabilité au paysage. De même, en dispersant les ondes sonores, les arbres étouffent les bruits, en plus de permettre la verdure à l’année longue. Les plantations d’arbres de Noël offrent des aires de verdure s’harmonisant avec le paysage environnant, ce qui a pour effet d’accroître l’esthétisme des lieux. Ainsi, en se promenant dans une plantation d’arbres de Noël, nos sens se complaisent comme la vue par la verdure, l’ouïe par le chant des oiseaux, l’odorat par l’odeur typique du sapin baumier.

 
Haut de page
 

Propriété 7 – Les arbres de Noël offrent de nombreux avantages agricoles et écologiques

 

Qu’on se le dise, les arbres de Noël, cultivés dans un but économique, ne compromettent pas les ressources forestières naturelles. Puisque la destinée finale de ces arbres cultivés est d’embellir les foyers, on évite par conséquent le pillage des sapins dans nos forêts naturelles. Pour chaque arbre de Noël cultivé et récolté, les producteurs en replantent un autres pour des récoltes futures. Ils assurent ainsi la permanence des bénéfices écologiques environnementaux et économiques des plantations d’arbres de Noël.

 

Par ailleurs, le secteur raffine continuellement ses connaissances et ses techniques, ce qui a une incidence directe sur la qualité des produits qu’elle offre aux consommateurs. Le sapin l’arbre de Noël traditionnel des Québécois, se prête bien à l’amélioration génétique et à la recherche dans la régie culturale. Les pépiniéristes de jeunes plants raffinent les caractéristiques des sapins afin d’améliorer sa résistance aux insectes et d’augmenter son esthétisme. La culture des arbres de Noël emprunte toutes les méthodes de l’arboriculture, incluant la récolte de semences et le jardinage de semis.

 
Haut de page
 

Conclusion

 
Sapinière du Québec
 

Dans les faits, la culture des arbres de Noël a reçu ses lettres de noblesse depuis qu’elle est passée de l’artisanat au statut de science. Dorénavant, les producteurs d’arbres de Noël doivent posséder des expertises telles que la composition des sols et leur drainage, l’entomologie, ainsi que des notions de sylviculture pure et simple. De moins en moins d’aspects ne sont laissés au hasard.

 

Acheter un arbre de Noël cultivé au Québec c’est participer au respect du cycle naturel du milieu agricole qui nous entoure. Non seulement votre acquisition aura-t-elle eu un impact favorable sur l’environnement et la faune, l’aménagement du territoire et le bien-être collectif, mais en plus contribuera-t-elle à vous faire passer des moments heureux en compagnie de celles et de ceux que vous chérissez. Tout le monde gagne à acheter un arbre cultivé pour Noël!