bilan

Environmental assessment

A positive agri environmental pathway for the production of Christmas tree

The Christmas tree markets in Quebec have existed for 70 years. The harvesting of selected natural trees and the intensive production started during the 60’s, the production management was modified and it favoured the arrival of many enemies liable to cause important damages to trees. Without any intervention, it would have been difficult to reach the quality standards expected by the market.
 
The production management of Christmas trees have followed the same rhythm as the agriculture in general. Since some ten years now, a series of procedures were adopted to minimize the negative impacts on the modern agriculture and to develop a culture in harmony with the environment. Let us view the main actions that were undertaken.
 
Considering the fact that the production of Christmas trees is a culture, it is subject to the same governmental regulations when it comes to agri environment. Nowadays, the producers owning more than 15ha in Christmas trees must write an Agri Environmental Fertilization Program (PAED). This fertilization plan is conducted under the supervision of an agronomist. In the eventuality of a soil too rich, the use of fertilization is diminished.
 
The protection of the Christmas trees against weeds, diseases and insects are unavoidable. For the past few years, one cannot apply nor buy pesticides if the user has not succeeded in passing a competence test for application. The large majority of applicators have followed the appropriate training to facilitate the results of the exam. Being better informed, the applicators of pesticides can reduce the applications and, by the same token, reduce the negative impact on the environment.
 

Do you know about the integrated pest management control?

 
One can define the integrated pest management control as being a more respective approach of the environment by questioning, if needed, to apply insecticide or not.
 
To take a decision one must:

  • Monitor and evaluate the importance of the enemies to control in the Christmas trees in the plantation.
  • Evaluate if the critical threshold of the undesirable is reached.
  • Evaluate if needed to intervene or not and which is the best moment.
  • Select the product that would minimize the negative impact on the environment and if so, before applying a pesticide.

 
The Quebec Christmas Tree Grower Association (APANQ) favours the preventive integrated pest control measures have been taken to encourage its members to join in.
 
Indeed, this approach may look complex, taking into account the fact that there are many enemies or damaging insects in the Christmas tree production. In order to help the growers to take decisions specialized agrienviromental clubs exist in the identifying of ravaging enemies and diseases. The agricultural agronomists and technicians working in the field are experts in the localising and they play an important role in the reduction of pesticides used in the plantations. Their advice is much appreciated by the growers of Christmas trees.
 
The registration to the agrienvironmental clubs is on a voluntary basis. Most growers join in and understand very well this new integrate concept: They reduce in important ways the use of pesticides while harvesting trees of high quality that they will later on offer to the discerning consumers.
 
As a complimentary approach to this integrated concept, there is a network of phytosanitary surveillance composed of 11 observation sites spread out through the regions where growing Christmas trees is found. Based on the information collected weekly during spring, a bulletin is issued mentioning the state of the situation and the way to intervene according to the integrated management. More than 400 subscribers, participants and growers receive this bulletin.
 
The Christmas tree growers are made aware of the durable development concept. They have undertaken a responsible approach in this direction in the future concerning this cultural management and phytosanitary method. It is a good start; the Christmas tree growers intend to follow up on their research in order to improve their way of operating in collaboration with the environment surrounding us all.

bilan

Bilan environnemental

Un cheminement agroenvironnemental positif pour la culture des arbres de noël?

Le commerce des arbres de Noël au Québec existe depuis près de 70 ans. La récolte d’arbres naturels et la culture intensive ont débuté dans les années soixante, la régie culturale s’est modifiée et a favorisé l’émergence de nombreux ennemis pouvant causer des dommages importants aux arbres. Sans interventions, il aurait été difficile d’obtenir les standards de qualité exigés par le marché.
 
La régie culturale des arbres de Noël a évolué au même rythme que l’agriculture en général. Depuis près d’une décennie, une série d’actions sont entreprises pour diminuer les impacts négatifs de l’agriculture moderne et pour développer une culture en harmonie avec son environnement. Examinons les principales actions qui ont été posées.
 
Comme la production des arbres de Noël est une culture, elle est soumise aux mêmes réglementations gouvernementales en matière d’agroenvironnement. À présent, les entreprises possédant plus de 15 hectares en arbres de Noël doivent faire un Plan agroenvironnemental de fertilisation (PAEF). Ce plan de fertilisation se fait sous la supervision d’un agronome. Il doit s’assurer que la fertilisation est adéquate et qu’il n’y ait pas de surfertilisation. Dans le cas d’un sol trop riche, la fertilisation est diminuée.
 
La protection des arbres contre les mauvaises herbes, les maladies et les insectes sont incontournables. Depuis quelques années, on ne peut pas appliquer ni acheter de pesticides si l’utilisateur n’a pas réussi un examen de compétences d’application. La très grande majorité des applicateurs ont suivi une formation appropriée pour faciliter la réussite de l’examen. En étant mieux informés, les utilisateurs de pesticides peuvent réduire les applications et, par la même occasion, réduire leur impact négatif dans l’environnement.
 

Connaissez-vous le concept de lutte intégrée?

 
On peut définir le concept de lutte intégrée comme étant une approche plus respectueuse de l’environnement en se questionnant, s’il y a lieu, de faire une application de pesticides ou non.
 
Pour prendre la décision, on doit :

  • Dépister et évaluer l’importance les ennemies à contrôler des sapins dans la plantation;
  • évaluer si le seuil critique d’indésirables est atteint;
  • évaluer, s’il y a lieu, d’intervenir ou non et quel est le meilleur moment;
  • choisir le produit qui minimiserait l’impact négatif sur l’environnement, et ce, avant d’appliquer un pesticide.

 
L’Association des producteurs d’arbres de Noël du Québec adhère aux préventions de lutte intégrée, des actions ont été prises afin d’encourager ces membres à y adhérer.
 
Certes, cette approche peut sembler complexe, d’autant plus qu’il existe plusieurs ennemis ou insectes nuisibles pour les arbres de Noël. Pour aider les producteurs à prendre leurs décisions, il existe des clubs agroenvironnementaux spécialisés dans le dépistage des ravageurs et des maladies. Les agronomes ou les techniciens agricoles qui y travaillent sont spécialisés dans le dépistage et ils jouent un rôle important dans la réduction des pesticides utilisés dans les plantations. Leurs conseils sont appréciés des producteurs d’arbres de Noël.
 
L’adhésion aux clubs agroenvironnementaux est volontaire. La plupart des entreprises y adhèrent et comprennent bien ce nouveau concept de lutte intégrée : ils diminuent de façon importante l’utilisation des pesticides tout en récoltant des arbres de qualité qu’ils pourront offrir par la suite aux consommateurs avertis.
 
Comme approche complémentaire au concept de la lutte intégrée, il existe un réseau de surveillance phytosanitaire composé de 11 sites d’observations répartis dans les régions où nous pouvons retrouver la culture des arbres de Noël. À partir de l’information recueillie hebdomadairement au printemps, un bulletin est émis mentionnant l’état de la situation et la façon qu’il faut intervenir dans une approche de lutte intégrée. Plus de 400 abonnés, intervenants et entreprises reçoivent le bulletin.
 
Les entreprises d’arbres de Noël sont sensibilisées au concept de développement durable. Ils ont entrepris une démarche responsable dans cette voie d’avenir en ce qui a trait à la régie culturale et phytosanitaire. C’est un début, les entreprises d’arbres de Noël ont l’intention de poursuivre leurs démarches afin d’améliorer sa façon de faire dans le respect de l’environnement qui l’entoure.